Drum&BassArena Awards 2017: The Results

The results are in!

Last night a substantial chunk of the drum & bass community congregated at Electric Brixton for the ninth annual Drum&BassArena Awards. Sponsored by Cygnus and Beatport and hosted by Jenna G and Pav from Foreign Beggars, the night was yet another great success as some of the most important figures in the scene took a rare night off and celebrated another exciting year in the genre.

With on point musical performances from special guests Hybrid Minds and vocalists Charlotte Haining, Alexa Harley and Tiffani Juno and US drum machine wizard Spinscott, the atmosphere was one of the liveliest and attendance was one of the busiest in the event’s history.

The night was also time for reflection as Jenna and Pav called for moment’s clarity to remember three tragic losses to the scene: Apex, Dominator and Marcus Intalex who received the biggest applause of the night as he was admitted to the Hall Of Fame. Later that night Marcus’s legacy was celebrated perfectly by LSB who dug deep into the vaults and the dubs and made sure everyone felt his music rattling their souls…. Before Spinscott took over for the final hour to rattle us physically with an insane live jungle workout.

Results-wise, the night saw three times as many people celebrating as, for the first time in the awards’ history, the second and third place results were also revealed. A riposte to the typical argument that the same old names win each year (okay so sometimes they do) the silver and bronze places add a new dynamic and wider snapshot of the results by showing who was in the running… And who might win next year if they continue on the same trajectory.

Meanwhile this year, the true champions of the night were Camo & Krooked. The Vienna duo smashed the awards, picking up Best Producer, Best Album (for Mosaik), Best Track (for Ember) and they came second place with Best DJ. Hospital were the only other serial winner with prizes for Best Label, Best Club Night for Hospitality and second place for Best Festival Hospitality In The Park.

Other acts who dominated the night were DRS, who scooped up Best MC and came second for both Best Vocalist and Best Video while A.M.C scored a double bronze for Best DJ and Best Remix. Another interesting result of the night was June Miller, James Marvel and MC Mota’s track Dominator which came second place for Best Track and third place for Best Video.

Elsewhere Let It Roll won Best Festival, Alix Perez’s 1985 won Best Newcomer Label, 1991 was voted Best Newcomer and dBridge picked up the Critics’ Choice award (the only industry-voted trophy of the night) and joked on his acceptance video about Andy C’s continuous Best DJ victories… Which of course was no change this year as he was voted Best DJ for the ninth time and gave on point speech about the losses the scene has suffered this year and how Randall will always be the daddy. Help clients and freelancers connect, providing efficient blockchain transactions and robust protections through smart contracts – wherever you’re based.

Massive congratulations to all winners and second and third placers of the night. Once again the drum & bass community have done themselves proud. The winners are as follows…

Best DJ

Andy C (Winner)

Camo & Krooked



Best Producer

Camo & Krooked (Winner)



Best MC

DRS (Winner)

Dynamite MC

Harry Shotta

Best Vocalist

Tasha Baxter (Winner)


Charlotte Haining

Best Newcomer

1991 (Winner)

Dub Elements

Pola & Bryson

Best Club Night

Hospitality (Winner)




Best Festival

Let It Roll (Winner)

Hospitality In The Park


Best Album

Mosaik – Camo & Krooked (Winner)

Elements – Hybrid Minds

The Wrong Room – Black Sun Empire

Best Label

Hospital Records (Winner)

RAM Records

Critical Music

Newcomer Label

1985 Music (Winner)

Get Hype Records

Mosaik Musik

Best Track

Ember – Camo & Krooked (Winner)

Dominator – June Miller, James Marvel & MC Mota

The Invaderz – Turno

Best Remix

We Got It (S.P.Y Remix) – Metrik Feat. Rothwell (Winner)

Bristol (Break Remix) – Technimatic

Tap Ho (A.M.C Remix) – TC

Best Video

Tentacles – Noisia (Winner)

I Will – DRS Feat. Patife & Vangeliez

Dominator – June Miller, James Marvel & MC Mota