Noisia Announce Third And Final Album – Closer

Noisia will release a third and final album – Closer – on May 12

Featuring collaborations with the likes of Skrillex, Camo & Krooked, Mefjus, IMANU, The Upbeats, Phace, Black Sun Empire, Posij, Halogenix, Two Fingers, Former and more, the album comprises 20 tracks, 11 of which have yet to be released.

Signing off the longest goodbye in D&B history, Closer will provide a certain amount of closure on the announcement the Dutch trio made in September when they announced their intentions to split at the end of 2020.

With covid putting an end to the visionary group’s original plans – moving the trio to continue fulfilling DJ bookings right up to their last ever show at Lowlands Festival on August 21 this summer – they’ve had time to consider their final explorations, creations and collaborations made since their acclaimed 2016 album Outer Edges and curate it into one final body of work.

While some of the tracks are already staple anthems and fan favourites – such as Foundations (with Mefjus), Sibuya Pet Store (with The Upbeats), Pleasure Model (with Former), The Hole Pt 1 and the massive Supersonic (with Skrillex, josh pan and Dylan Brady) – much of the album is brand new and ranges from dissarming beatless ambient tracks to all-out jump-up gutter grooves.

Most importantly, it feels like a body of work with many emotional and sonic themes and textures running throughout and holding it together. A touching yet very finite parting gesture, the album has been teased subtly by the band over the last four weeks since their social media posts on April 1.

Various iconic artworks from past releases have been posted since while they’ve all played the ambient album finale Closer on their weekly Vision Radio episodes without any explanation or description.

Now with the album announced, they’re ready to reveal more…

Hello Person. 

After Outer Edges we were trying to find a new direction for Noisia. This resulted in an extensive journey that took us through a lot of new ideas and music. 

Although we eventually decided to stop, we are proud of the things we made along the way, and these tunes were always meant to be part of a larger whole. So before we finally close the book on Noisia, we wanted to share them with you, on one last album. Previously released or newly finished, they all represent directions we enjoyed exploring.

 In the end, we didn’t manage to figure things out. But we did get closer.”

The album will drop on May 12, a day ahead of their rescheduled last ever Noisia Invites show in Melkweg Amsterdam. New music will be revealed in the build-up to the release, starting today with Nova, their collaboration with Camo & Krooked…

The full tracklist is below. Closer can be pre-ordered here. UKF would like to wish Martijn, Nik and Thys the best of luck in all their future endeavours. As they hinted exclusively to us when we announced their split way back 2019, this isn’t the end, this is the start of a beautiful future for all members.

Closer Tracklist 

Noisia – Three (Intro)
Noisia & Camo & Krooked – Nova
The Upbeats & Noisia – Shibuya Pet Store
Noisia & IMANU – Shift
Noisia & Skrillex – Horizon
Noisia & Former – Cleansing
Mefjus & Noisia – Foundations
Noisia – Scrapped
Noisia – Shutters
Noisia & The Upbeats – Halcyon
Noisia & Halogenix – Wordless
Noisia – Told You
Noisia & Two Fingers – Dzjengis
Noisia & Former – Pleasure Model
Noisia & Phace – Deep Down
Noisia & Posij – Simplon
Noisia & Black Sun Empire – Caps Lock
Skrillex, Noisia, josh pan & Dylan Brady – Supersonic (My Existence)
Noisia – The Hole Pt. 1
Noisia – Closer