The North Quarter to release first V/A album: Quarter To Quarter

Photography: Steven Tjoeng


Break, LSB, Redeyes, Tokyo Prose, Kyrist, FD, Submorphics, Zero T, Total Science and Anile are just some of the artists joining Lenzman on his label’s first ever various artists album: Quarter To Quarter.

Following Submorphics’ excellent album Kodak Dreams in March, Quarter To Quarter has been 18 months in the making, comprises 14 exclusive tracks and will drop on May 8. Documenting the label’s drum & bass breadth, sound and collective scope, the idea – as Lenzman explains – has been to create a “timeless statement of intent.”

“For me The North Quarter is a collective of like-minded people,” says Lenzman who named the label after the neighbourhood he grew up in. “I’ve always wanted it to be something much bigger than any one individual. That meant the album took me a lot longer than a compilation might usually do because I wanted to get everyone’s best tracks.”

Often described by North Quarter artists as someone who’s able to encourage some of their best work to date, Lenzman has once again curated an impressive body of work. Quarter To Quarter represents the label’s fattest scope while celebrating the genre’s most soulful aspects with a whole gamut of deeper, contemplative and musical elements. Vocalists on board the project reflect that, too, as the voices of long-time friends of the label such as Steo and IAMDDB are present and correct.

“With this album I’ve tried to bring together a group of artists with whom I have shared values, who have never been brought together in this way,” says Lenzman. “Way back when I first got into music, I wanted to share that magic with others. Today that same urge still endures within me…”

The album will be released May 8 and full tracklist is below. The release starts today with Break’s remix of Lenzman and IAMDDB’s In My Mind. Expect singles from Azekel vs Lenzman and Submorphics featuring Pola & Bryson to drop ahead of the release. Pre-order and find out more.

Quarter To Quarter: Tracklist

01 Azekel – Don’t Wake The Babies (Lenzman Remix)
02 Redeyes – Lust
03 Echo Brown – Show You
04 Atlantic Connection feat. Steo – Night & Day
05 Tokyo Prose – Rescue
06 Zero T & Steo – Keep Falling
07 Kyrist – Untrue
08 Lenzman feat. IAMDDB – In My Mind (Break Remix)
09 Total Science – Killa
10 LSB – Destine
11 FD – Your Touch
12 Satl – Just Thinkin’
13 Anile – U No Who U R
14 Submorphics feat. Pola & Bryson – Albion Road

Follow The North Quarter: Facebook / Soundcloud