Artificial Intelligence: Top 10 wind-down D&B tunes

Photography: Chelone Wolf

It’s a busy time at Artificial Intelligence HQ as they return to Metalheadz with their Signs EP and their label Integral Records is launching a brand new residency on BBC Radio 1.

Following the likes of Bonobo, Maribou State, Fatboy Slim and labels such as Anjunadeep and Ninja Tune, Integral Records will be taking over the station’s weekly Wind Down Saturday night mix series with monthly mixes from Artificial Intelligence, Emma G, Satl, Lenzman, Dawn Wall & Mohican Sun and more.

On rotation with eminent labels Warp Records and Giles Peterson’s Brownswood Recordings, the residency kicks off Saturday night 4am September 6 with a mix from Satl and will be the first time a drum & bass imprint has held this Radio 1 residency. They promise to rep the genre’s finest examples of deep, emotional soul in a way that’s not been done since Fabio was a weekly voice on the BBC’s flagship youth music station.

“We are all super chuffed at Integral HQ to be representing the soulful sides of drum & bass over the next 6 months,” state Artificial Intelligence. We asked them to warm-up for the Wind Down and select a few tracks we might hear over the coming months….


Redyes & KSR – A Thousand Times (The North Quarter)

“It could only be a beautiful collaboration with the Toulouse master of soul and Manchester’s KSR on vocals. The full forthcoming album Selfportraits has been on regular rotation.”


TOKiMONSTA – Come & Go (Halogenix Remix) (TOKiMONSTA Music)

“Futuristic intricate production from one of the hottest producers who is on fire at the moment. TOKiMONSTA’s original is beautiful, too…”


Satl – Crave You (Integral Records)

“A personal favourite from Satl’s latest project 4Lyfe. He brings the emotion with every single ingredient.”


Sabre, Stray & Halogenix + Frank Carter III – Oblique (Critical Music)

“Oblique changed the game at the time with it’s clinical production and vibe. Still sounds a fresh as ever”


Dawn Wall – Never Say (Integral Records)

“We could have selected a number of Dawn Wall tracks. For us Never Say is one of defining moments in pushing the future soulful D&B boundaries.”


Workforce – Heart Crossed (Must Make)

“We always look forward to a new Workforce release…. Especially the deeper side of his versatile productions. He’s in a league of his own.”


LSB – Leave (Soul:r)

“Timeless infectious dreamy vibes from LSB. One of many, many stand-out releases in recent years. Delivered on the seminal Soul:r label, too.”


Artificial Intelligence & Makoto – Cold Expanse (UKF)

“A long overdue debut collaboration with Makoto, a man we’ve respected for many years. It’s just dropped on the UKF2020 series. Dreamy euphoric autumn vibes and an absolute honour.”


Zero T & Steo – Little Pieces (Dispatch)

“We’re always waiting on the next collaboration between our brothers from Dublin. This one really touches the soul.”


Mohican Sun – Don’t Wait (Integral Records)

“Deep subterranean emotional vibes that hit both in the club and when played to chill out. Perfect.”

Wind down with Integral Records on BBC Radio 1 from 4 am September 6

Follow Artificial Intelligence: Facebook / Soundcloud / Twitter  

Follow Integral Records: Facebook / Soundcloud

<AI socials>